Church Family – What it’s All About

Today, on Thankful Thursday, I am so grateful to God that we have finally found a true church family.

Our church is not perfect by any means, and I have struggled mightily over the past year with some of the leadership’s decisions (despite Hubbo and I being a part of the leadership team). But more than any other place we have been since we got married – any church, any study group, anywhere, really – we have found family and fellowship there.

Yes, sometimes I resent that we have very little time together because we are both so heavily involved in services both days of the weekend and in other ministry activities during the week (not to mention Hubbo’s 9-5 job). Yes, I get a little stressed out when I am asked to step out of my comfort zone and volunteer for VBS. Yes, we have some “interesting” and hard-to-love members of our body. But nowhere – absolutely nowhere – else have we found people so willing to accept us, serve us, welcome us, and encourage us as a family and as individuals seeking God.

And that, my friends, is what true New Testament “church” is really about.

If you haven’t plugged into a church “home” and found fellowship there, I would encourage you: do it! You will find lifelong friends and people who will love you as well as they can. True family doesn’t always mean blood.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cup of Goodness
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 21:46:44

    A thought provoking post.

    At church, we expect excellence and right decision making most of the time, but the truth is we aren’t all that good either.

    It’s a beautiful thing when we look beyond the “interesting” factor to see the God-given gifts each one brings to the Kingdom.

    Reply

    • sabepa
      Jun 23, 2011 @ 22:39:29

      Thank you! I wish I could claim I look past those things all the time. The truth is, I spend way you much time complaining about how I think things SHOULD be instead of asking how I can serve to make what actually is into something better. But thy is what Thankful Thursday is all about – turning toward praise an gratitude. šŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 14,894 hits since June 10, 2010